Washoe Country School District
Thank you for your interest in the Washoe County School District. This information is supplied as a courtesy to the applicant. In order to receive a Teaching or an Administrative contract, the applicant must hold a valid license in the State of Nevada.
Responsibility for securing, maintaining and reviewing licenses rests solely with the professional employee.
If you have any questions, please contact:
Office of Teacher Licensure
Nevada State Department of Education
700 East Fifth Street
Carson City, NV 89701
Licensure and Reciprocity
Nevada has conditional reciprocity with some states and the Nevada Department of Education will evaluate a license issued by another state. The license must correspond to the standards established by the Professional Standards Commission of Nevada to include completion of an approved teacher education program as well as a degree consistent to what is required in Nevada. Nevada does not accept provisional, multi-subjects of emergency licenses issued by other states, nor does it accept Peace Corps internships in lieu of student teaching. Licensure is mandatory for all teachers in Nevada and it is the teacher's responsibility to obtain and maintain appropriate licensure from the State of Nevada prior to employment.
Initial Licensure - Procedure to Follow When Applying:
- The application for licensing and additional forms may be obtained from the Office of Teacher Licensure of the State Department of Education in Carson City. For information, call (775) 687-9115 or access the website at: nvteachers.doe.nv.gov. An applicant should prepare the following when applying:
- Official transcripts of all credits completed above high school
- Evaluation fee of $161 to cover issuance of a license within a year, which is non refundable.
Please Note: Effective March 1, 2008, the Offices of Teacher Licensing will accept money orders or cashier's checks only. No personal checks will be accepted. Also, all licensure transactions, including renewals and added endorsements, will require submission of an official transcript, application form, and appropriate fees.
- Teacher Licensing Fees:
- Teaching License $161.00
- Substitute Teaching License $161.00
- Renewal of Teaching License $80.00
- Additional Endorsement $50.00
- Duplicate License $10.00
- Complete course work in Nevada School Law, Nevada Constitution and United States Constitution and pass required competency test examinations. For examination information, please go to http://www.unr.edu/educ/el/nvlaw/.